Home

Screen Shot 2014-12-16 at 4.16.10 PM

It’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas! My last Whole 30 ended over 2 months ago now, and I wish I could say that afterwards I continued eating healthily, without any lapses in judgement. Instead, I got caught up in the autumn urge to cozy up, eat carbs and sugar, and pizza started creeping back to its place as a semi-frequent food choice.

The change is definitely noticeable in my body and how I feel in my own skin, and while I’m disappointed in myself for not maintaining structure after the 30 days ended, I am trying not to beat myself up over it. In fact, I think this is a common issue for those who try out the Whole 30, as it can be easy to be diligent and consistent when there are firm guidelines and a clear goal in place, but when things are up in the air, I find it very hard to exercise restraint in treating myself- especially at this time of year.

Instead, to get back on track, I’m simplifying things for myself. There are two things I’m hoping to work on limiting specifically: sugar, and grains (primarily wheat).

These two culprits tend to be the worst for my mood- and my weight. While I’m not completely writing them off as I would for a Whole 30, I am making attempts to avoid them, which has been helping me stay sane. The idea is that then I can indulge on Christmas itself, rather than ALL the weeks surrounding.

I’ve also taken an interest in bone broth-making, and fermenting! My friend mentioned making bone broth for her boyfriend who had his appendix out, and I immediately thought of Sarah Wilson of I Quit Sugar fame.

I really like Sarah’s blog, and she has great suggestions for fermenting, and using bone broth to help encourage good gut health. I started off making her recipe for cream cheese, which was incredibly simple, and terribly delicious. I have some in the fridge right now, and just thinking about it is making my mouth water. It’s world’s better than the kind you buy in a tub, and all you need is some plain yogurt and cheesecloth to make it happen.

cheesemaking

Right now, I’m simmering some chicken stock on the stove as per this recipe and I’m looking forward to trying the process with beef bones as well. My knees can be a little fussy at times when I’m running, and I have another half marathon slated for next year. It’d be a good idea for me to try to up my joint and bone health now, I reckon.

So that’s what I’ve been up to this month! How are you planning on surviving the holidays, and the long winter months beyond?

Leave a comment