Home

Phew! I thought I’d update this blog more during this round of W30, but I’m already ten days in and have only posted one. Oh well, here’s another!

My first week of W30 went well, and I didn’t find I struggled with the usually described symptoms people tend to report early on. No carb flu type thing, I was just more tired than usual. My mood has improved a fair bit, which is nice to see, and my head feels clearer. I’m still struggling with eating all the things (although now, all the things is more like lots of meats, olives, fruit, and some cashew butter). Now that I’ve eased into it, I think it’s time to back off the heavy handed meat consumption, and reduce the fruit. I’m also kicking myself for bringing that cashew butter-crack into the house at all, but fortunately, I only have a small jar.

I’ve also gone to yoga twice this week, and once last week, which is fantastic. My lower back is a little surprised by it, because it turns out I haven’t used many of those muscles in a while, even with running! I haven’t gotten back on the running wagon yet, because I’m a little concerned that it will over-inflate my hunger, and I’ll do more unreasonable eating. Maybe I’ll ease in with a 5km run next weekend, and see how it goes from there.

I’m still loving black coffee. I don’t know what it is, but it just delivers straight up pleasure for me, and I haven’t had too many craving for the insane seasonal Starbucks drinks yet. Chai lattes, yes, but I’m tiding myself over with tea bags instead.

I’m noticing my body composition is already seeming to change, or rather, my weight distribution isn’t as focused on my stomach anymore. Pants fit better already, and when I look in the mirror, I’m a bit less repelled by what I see! I’m loving the change of the seasons, and I wish I’d gone for walks this weekend in the falling leaves, but I can swing that some nights this week instead.

At work for our slim down September theme, we currently have a local gym trying to recruit us with a company discount, and they’re supposed to be doing a fitness session in our office today. I’m dreading the idea, because I don’t want to sweat at work without showers, and I’m feeling the pressure to join their gym already. I hate that kind of sales pitch feeling. I’m finding that yoga is really making me happy again at the moment, and if anything, I want to renew a full time pass rather than sign up for a cramped gym. I’m also a bit apprehensive about having a fitness assessment with a trainer, as I’m not terribly interested in hearing other peoples’ opinions about my body. I’ve got my own (both good and not so good) opinions about it, which are more than enough!

As for favourite meals this week, I have to say zucchini noodles with chunky meat and mushroom spaghetti sauce ranks pretty high. I found I didn’t miss the real thing, which is insane, because normally pasta is the key to my heart. I also made drumsticks and wings with hot sauce from scratch which was tasty and super easy. This week, I’ve got some salmon on the radar, and I really want (need) to get more broccoli consumption happening.

All in all, a good week!

Leave a comment